Schroon Lake Public Library

Home » Databases » Adult Databases

Adult Databases

proquestThere are 87 different local publications available for your information needs in the Gannett Newsstand database! From the Burlington Free Press to the Pacific Daily News, browse each newspaper by year, month, and issue or search by title if you are looking for a particular article. The obituaries section can be a helpful tool for completing that family tree you’ve been working on.

—————-

opposing viewpoints This excellent resource delivers 13,000+ pro/con views, 1,000+ court case overviews, and thousands more topic overviews, biographies and profiles. Topic areas include Science, Global Issues, History, and Biography. Teachers can search by state and national curriculum standards for materials to use in the classroom.


Rocket Languages an interactive online language learning system. You learn conversational language at your own pace, and you can access downloadable mp3 lessons, games, flash cards and more.

——————–

learning express libraryA site with interactive skill-building courses and a broad range of practice tests based on such official exams as the ACT, SAT, GED, ASVAB, Firefighter, Police Officer, Paramedic, EMT Basic, U.S. Citizenship, Postal Worker, Cosmetology, and Real Estate Agent & Broker Exams. Also explore the Job Search resources, such as Resume Writing and Interviewing courses.

———————

magazinesPopular Magazines includes 1000 of the most searched magazines across our InfoTrac product line. All the titles were selected based on the actual publication searches performed by library patrons.

———————-

wilson periodicalsWilson OmniFile: Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, from the following Wilson periodical databases: Art Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Readers’ Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text.

——————–

gale power searchGale PowerSearch simplifies browsing through Gale’s more than 20,000 publications, providing the ability to search across more than 150 million documents. The interface provides users a Web-like experience and includes added features that appeal to and empower library researchers.

———————-

nyshistoricAccess historic newspapers from New York State.  The site currently contains 160 different newspaper titles and approximately 2.5 million pages of historic newspapers, featuring coverage from 20 counties.  All contents are available for online use free of charge.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: