Schroon Lake Public Library

Home » Databases » Children’s Databases

Children’s Databases

elibrary2eLibrary Elementary: Students of all ages use eLibrary Elementary’s powerful, yet engaging and easy-to-use search interface to find the answers they need from more than 390 magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts—plus thousands of maps, images, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video titles, all selected as appropriate for elementary school studies.

————————-

infobitsKids InfoBits: A collection of more than 100 full-text, age-appropriate magazines, more than 6,400 searchable, indexed images, Merriam-Webster®’s Elementary Dictionary and 1,200 maps, flags & seals and over 1,700 colorful charts and graphs. It features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface. (Click here if outside NY State.)

—————————

novellist k 8Novelist K-8: Engage your younger readers and encourage reading success! NoveList K-8 Plus helps parents,
teachers, and librarians improve literacy, connect reading across curricular areas, teach reading and writing concepts, and engage young readers. In NoveList K-8 Plus you’ll find fiction and nonfiction titles for children and teens, expert reading recommendations from librarians and school media specialists, and read-alikes for every title, author, and series.

—————————-
grolier larger

Grolier Online: Includes access to the Encyclopedia Americana, New Book of Knowledge and Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia as well as Roget’s II: The New Thesaurus and the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition.

—————————

february_logo

  •    DaybyDayNY is a virtual calendar with content that changes every day. This unique setup gives families with young children numerous daily activities and a story to read together. The storyis in the form of an eBook that includes original music and sound effects, produced by former Sesame Street Music Director, Robby Merkin. In addition, the website includes monthly activities, storytelling and nursery rhyme videos, rhymes for young children, craft activities for children and their caregivers, a link to “Find Your Public Library,” a New York State map of museums with activities for young families, health information, and reading lists. The website is designed to help parents and caregivers increase their young child’s cognitive skills and have fun together at the same time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: